PERRY COUNTY COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MNUTES January 2, 2025

The Perry County Council met on the above date at 4:00 p.m. as was duly advertised. Council members in attendance were David Etienne (DE), Keith Huck (KH), Stan Goffinet (SG), Kelli Harding (Kelli), Paul Brockman (PB), and Gale Garner (GG). Auditor Kristinia Hammack was also present. There was no *Sheriff, Attorney* or *News Representative* present.

The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

DE welcomed Cory Filley, who is the newly elected Councilman, and Paul Brockman who was caucused in to replace the District 4 seat of Earla Williams. He also thanked Williams for all her contributions in the past.

KH stated he will be resigning the end of January 2025.

AGENDA

Kelli made the motion to accept as modified, seconded by SG. Motion carried 7-0.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

a) None

PARETO HEALTH

a) DE stated that the Council needs to decide where to pay this out of, as it was approved at the last meeting. DE suggested paying the \$44,504 out of Health Fund 5110.

SG made a motion to approve, seconded by GG. Motion carried 7-0.

REORGANIZATION OF BOARD

- a) Elect President, Vice-President
 - 1. DE made a motion to nominate Kelli Harding as President, seconded by SG. The nomination was closed. Motion carried 7-0.
 - 2. SG made a motion to nominate David Etienne, seconded by GG. The nomination was closed. Motion carried 7-0.
- b) 2025 Attorney Contract

This is the contract for Rod Acchiardo. There is no change in the contract amount from 2024.

SG made a motion to approve the contract, seconded by PB. Motion carried 7-0.

c) 2025 Monthly Meeting Schedule

Kelli stated that typically the Council meets monthly on the fourth Thursday of the month at 5:00 p.m., unless there is a special meeting or a holiday.

DE made a motion to keep the schedule the same as 2024, which is the fourth Thursday of the month at 5:00 p.m., seconded by SG. Motion carried 7-0.

COUNTY COUNCIL

- a) Board Appointments
 - 1. Alcohol Beverage Board

There is one position open and this is a one-year term. Randy McBrayer sent in a letter of interest.

DE made a motion to appoint Randy McBrayer, seconded by KH. Motion carried 7-0.

2. Property Tax Assessment Board of Appeals

There were letters of interest received from Mandy Jackson, Heidi Dixon, and Kelli Harding. The Commissioners appointed all three at their meeting prior to this one. There are two open positions that need to be readvertised. Kelli stated that the political affiliations need to be obtained from the three appointed, and then the Council will know what affiliation the other two need to be.

DE made a motion to readvertise the two open positions, seconded by GG. Motion carried 7-0.

3. Redevelopment Commission

There are two appointments with one-year terms. Letters of interest were received from Jon Scheer, Bill Dickerson, Kelli Harding, David Etienne,

and Sherry Flynn. The Commissioners appointed David Etienne, Kelli Harding and Sherry Flynn. There are two open seats and two people interested in filling them.

KH made a motion to appoint Bill Dickerson and Jon Scheer on the Redevelopment Commission, seconded by SG. Motion carried 7-0.

4. Indiana 15 Regional Planning Commission

There is one appointment with a one-year term. Letters of interest were received from Kelli Harding, Cory Filley, and Balaji Kashyab. The Commissioners appointed Filley and Kashyab.

DE nominated Kelli, seconded by PB. Motion carried 7-0.

5. Public Library Board

There is one appointment to fill due to the resignation of Karen Herwig. The term ends 12-31-25. It is typically a four-year term. Letters of interest received were from Heather Wathen, Joseph LeClere, and Amanda Roberson.

PB made a motion to appoint Heather Wathen, seconded by SG. Motion carried 6-0-1 with DE abstaining.

6. Zoning Appeals Board

Kelli stated that the Council does not have to make an appointment due to nobody putting their name in for this. Mandy Jackson put her name in, but she was appointed by the Commissioners. Donald Newell's term was up 12-31-24, however he did not submit a letter.

Kelli stated this needs to be readvertised.

DE made a motion to readvertise, seconded by GG. Motion carried 7-0.

7. Perry County Development Corporation (PCDC)

This is a delegate position with a one-year term that was previously held by Earla Williams.

KH nominated PB as a delegate for PCDC, seconded by CF. Motion carried 7-0.

8. Local Justice Reinvestment Advisory Council

This is a member of the Community Corrections Board. This was previously held by Earla Williams, so it needs to be replaced by someone internally.

DE made a motion to appoint GG, seconded by SG. Motion carried 6-0-1 with GG abstaining.

9. Emergency Management Advisory Council

This is a two-year term with one position open. This can be a Council designee or the Council President. CF asked if this should be tabled since the Commissioners are looking at this to see how it needs to be restructured, and Kelly responded it could be. Kelli stated there would still be someone from the Council on this, as the Commissioners are looking at the townships.

DE nominated CF, seconded by KH. Motion carried 7-0.

10. Personnel Policy Handbook Committee

There are two Council appointments internally and they are one-year terms. Currently DE and Kelli serve on this. Letters of interest received were from CF and Kelli.

KH made a motion for CF and Kelli to serve, seconded by DE. Motion carried 7-0.

11. Courthouse Security Committee

Kelli stated that currently KH serves on this committee, however this is a one-year appointment.

KH nominated CF to serve on this Courthouse Security Committee, seconded by PB. Motion carried 7-0.

12. Plan Commission

This is one appointment and has a one-year term. This needs to be an internal Council appointment.

KH nominated GG to serve on the Plan Commission, seconded by SG. Motion carried 6-0-1 with GG abstaining.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:31 p.m. CST.

KH made a motion to adjourn, seconded by SG. Motion carried 7-0.

President, Perry County Council

Minutes reviewed by: Kristinia L. Hammack, Perry County Auditor Minutes prepared by: Leisa M. Ecker, Deputy Auditor